"In 1938, Cane Disease Control Boards were established as part of expanded disease control legislation in the SES Act. Soon, there were 12 Pests Boards and eight Disease Boards, and amalgamation was necessary. The SES Act set up Cane Pest and Disease Control Boards in 1941. Sixteen boards were constituted in 1942 and this increased to 21 by 1975. Under the Sugar Industry Act 1991, these boards became Cane Protection and Productivity Boards with power to undertake general productivity functions. Under the Sugar Industry Act 1999, the boards remained statutory bodies but lost the right to statutory levies. After 76 years, it was back to voluntary funding!" From Origins and development of the sugarcane pest and disease control board system in Queensland, 1890–2000 by BT Egan. Proceedings Australian Society of Sugar Cane Technologists Vol. 24, 2002